In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution to oceans and on land, therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution has become a serious threat to the earth in the last few decades. Certain demographics hold the statement that plastic bags shouldn’t be permitted to use anymore as they are the main reason for land and marine pollution. I completely agree with the assertion as their decomposition is quite slower than other garbage stuff like paper and cotton.

First and foremost, plastic bags are contaminating the earth. They are manufactured by different hazardous chemicals which remain for a long period inside the layers of the planet and reduce the enrichment of soil or contaminate the ocean by reacting to different minerals. Consequently, agricultural produce and marine life are in danger. Rather illustrative examples are Indian and Pakistani beaches where people recklessly throw plastic bags on the beaches during their visits which ultimately flow back through the waves inside the water. There is no coincidence that there is noticeably less sea life around the beaches of these countries. There is a possibility that life can be back on these shores if people would stop using these anti-environmental shopping bags.

On a further note, these bags are hard to decompose. They are not composed of natural elements but artificial chemicals. Therefore, municipality departments spend millions of dollars every year for their recycling and decomposition as it’s their responsibility to clean the cities from such pollutants. They spend this money from tax amount of taxpayers which could be used in more productive ways such as green city projects, social awareness to avoid possible pollution causing acts. Banning plastic bags can bring a positive impact around the world as it would eliminate land and marine pollution and make the earth more natural and healthy.

The conclusion to be drawn is that many pollution problems can be sorted out by prohibiting the use of plastic bags. Land and ocean will be clean and feasible for agricultural produce and marine life. It would bring an overall positive impact on the life of the earth.