Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Restricting information for some vague security reasons is not democratic or rational according to some while others express that information should be available only when the necessity arrives. Both views have some justification, and I firmly believe that scientific studies, universities, research institutions and businesses can benefit the whole nation if all information is made accessible to them.

To begin with, sensitive information, that could be used to breach security, manipulate the stock market, create a market monopoly or trade with terrorists, should be scrutinized before making them publicly accessible. In this digital era, information spread like wildfire and for the sake of maintaining global peace, they should be delimited, according to many. For instance, if nuclear technology is shared with all nations for scientific studies, the world will soon stand on the verge of obliteration, despite an inconceivable possibility this technology possesses to facilitate all nations.

On the contrary, scientific research largely depends on available data and previous discoveries. If valuable information and past findings are not shared openly with academics and researchers, global progress will become standstill. For instance, the Internet is probably the most significant invention the modern world has seen and if this technology had not been shared by the US military, we would still be living in the pre-internet era. Moreover, restricted information has no value if they are not used to solve any real-world problem and thus curbing them is like imprisoning human potential. Finally, world history suggests that humankind has advanced due to discoveries and inventions shared with the world as each finding went through profound modification and advancement. I thus personally favour the ideology that supports 'free information for all'.

In conclusion, information has limited value when it is restrained and not shared. For the true global progress, restriction on valuable information should be debarred and let people know the truth instead of keeping them in darkness.