Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

With the advent of groundbreaking media technologies, advertising has become a trend around the world. Certain demographics hold the statement that it makes the users aware of the new inventions and innovations while others believe that it provokes the consumers for extravagant shopping. I completely agree with the assertion as many companies are using human psychology to fascinate the people towards their products.

A tremendous range of companies and their products are competing to gain market share. There are many companies with a similar range of products in the market and advertisement is playing a key role to gain the attention of consumers. Subsequently, people are attracted to the most fascinating advertisements of the products and like to buy, if they get a chance, regardless of their actual need. Samsung and Apple, for instance, are in the same race and try to capture the users with amazing new features in their products. Even though buyers are already using a mobile phone, they plan to buy the latest ones.

On a further note, media has changed the dynamics of advertising. There are many options like a TV commercial, social media, and signboards which prepare the mind of people for superfluous spending. As a result, people end up buying unnecessary items when they make a visit to superstores or online stores. A rather illustrative example is Amazon with every available new product in the market. They advertise the latest products in such a way that people cannot resist buying them.

The conclusion to be drawn is that modern advertisements are more of luring the people to buy those products with their fascinating advertising rather than their purpose to make the public aware of new market arrivals.