Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that we space programs should continue no matter what the cost. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The dynamics of the universe discoveries have changed dramatically with the advent of groundbreaking satellites, supercomputers, and rocket technologies. Certain demographics hold the statement that it would not add value to mankind enough to spend billions of dollars on space projects; however, others believe such initiatives are necessary for the betterment of life on earth. As for as I see, it is essential to keep eye on any foreseeable events which could threaten the existence of our planet.

First and foremost, approaching the outer world requires a lot in terms of money, effort, and technology. That is an emerging field and scientists are experimenting on the new findings which demand millions of dollars for research and developments. Sometimes it is a huge loss if the mission fails. That is why people think that we do not need immediate exploration of space at the cost of taxpayers’ money as this money can be used in some other social welfare work. NASA, for instance, has spent around 10 billion dollars on Mars mission for human colonization still they are struggling for a successful mission.

Conversely, security and defense of earth is an inevitable need of mankind. There are many extinctive events that have been occurred to our planet which changed life on earth like dinosaur extinction with comet strike. Therefore, it is better to carry on research on exploration to protect the earth from any possible danger heading towards our planet and take action accordingly. Hollywood movies like Deep Impact has shown the predictions of space scientist that how vulnerable is our earth from objects traveling in the space.

I am of the opinion that the world’s economy is based on trillions of dollars and it is in the best interest of people to allow governments to spend some money for the protection of our habitat as everything would be meaningless if we could not protect life on our planet.

The conclusion to be drawn is that admittedly space agencies have spent a plethora of money on failed space missions while it is also a paramount need of our planet to protect from any unforeseeable incidences which have been happened on earth in the past.