Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In most, if not all types of sports, it is generally agreed upon that some level or type of physical strength is vital to succeed. However, it is also very clear in the majority of sports, that the relationship between physical strength and most succesful athletes is not an exponential one. Therefore, the importance of mental strength cannot be ignored.

First of all, we shall discuss the relevance of physical strength in sports. Although, the case may differ slightly from sport-to-sport, it is undenyable that physical strength is very important to overcome oppositional forces in sports, like in danger. It may be upper body strength in boxing, core body strength in soccer or lower body strength in running and track competitions. In all the above mentioned cases, the right amount and location of physical empowerment can give any athlete an advantage over his/her opponent.

However, there are several popular athletes who lack physical strength in comparsion to their peers, but have been vastly successful in their various sports. For example, Messi in soccer, Floyd Mayweather in boxing, Steph Curry in basketball and many more. After closer observation, it is obvious that such athletes are very tactical, they spend more time mentally working, trying to predict and anticipate the moves of their opponents.

Personally, I believe that very tactical athletes do not need to overpower their opponents to win games. Furthermore, in recent times, it has become obvious that physically strong opponents do not stand a chance against opponents that are very mentally strong. Therefore, mental strength is just as important as physical strength for one to expect great success in sports nowadays. However, most players typically lack in one of both qualities, and tend to compensate with the other.

In summary, physical strength is as important in sport as it is in many other aspects in life, were we might encounter opposition. High levels of mental strength on the other hand, frequently out manuever the attacks of a physically strong opponent, by accurately predicting the moves of his opponent. In my opinion, both qualites are just as important, but typically the best athletes compensate for deficits by improving the more sufficient trait.