Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports games have been an integral part of human society since time immemorial. Certain demographics hold the statement that the sound mind plays a paramount role in the victory while others are in the favor of physical fitness. I am of the opinion that both are important as a sound body has a sound mind but a genius player with a natural flair can perform better than physically strong sportsmen.

First and foremost, a lot of energy and stamina is required by the participants to complete the session of many hours in different physical sports such as volleyball, football, and cricket. These games are like contests where two teams strive hard to win the victory and players put all their efforts into the game to provide entertainment to their fans. Therefore, they have to be physically strong enough to fight in the match for many hours. Rugby and soccer, for instance, require exceptional stamina from players. That is why people who are taking part in these games since their school time are more capable to play at the national and international levels.

Conversely, mental strength is inevitably a game changer in most match-winning moments. Sometimes an acute judgment is required by players during the game to offset the opponents. Mentally strong and intelligent sportsmen have abilities to change the result of the match at that particular time. A rather illustrative example is cricket, where in the last over of the game, both sides use their best judgment to play at the ultimate potential to win the game. At success point, mental strength outweighs physical strength.

As for as I see, both are essential for a good sports person. Players can reach their ultimate potential if they focus on their mental health. They can have a yoga practice, a healthy natural diet, books reading habits, and social work along with strenuous exercise at the gym to achieve mental health.

The conclusion to be drawn is that physical as well as mental health, both play an essential role to gain success in sports; however, mental strength helps to make game-changer decisions during the match which changes the results of the game eventually.