Some people think that politicians have the greatest influence on the world. Other people, however, believe that scientists have the greatest influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Even though every job has a sense of purpose and can make a difference, certain vocations such as being a politician, or a scientist definitely have the most impact on the world. It has been a contentious issue whether a politician or a scientist aces this competition. This essay will gingerly analyse the influential abilities of both them and will argue why scientists overshadow political leaders markedly.

People in the favour of politicians can argue that they can spur movements that can shape the entire world in the long run. Nelson Mandela, for instance, not only ended the horrific apartheid tradition in South Africa but also incited people living abroad to fight this awful discrimination; eventually making the world a better and safe place of people of all races and colours. Also, who can forget Mahatma Gandhi’s crucial role in preaching the theory of non-violence to the globe that facilitated numerous treaties among nations to be at ease with one another. Due to such examples, some people strongly believe that politicians bring the most significant changes in the world making them the most influential figures.

On the other hand, others including myself, surmise that scientists play an indispensable role in influencing the entire globe. Apparently, a scientist can invent, discover or create an indispensable tool that can noticeably change the fate of billions of people. Taking the 19th century into consideration, if Thomas Edison did not invent Light Bulb, we would still be in darkness as our ancestors. Additionally, without Graham Bell’s ceaseless attempts, no one could have thought of communicating thousands of miles away at the touch of a button. Such inventions indeed have shaped the fate of earthlings startlingly bringing convenience to each one of us. Therefore, these contributions make them the most influential people at all times.

To conclude, even though a politician can pull its people as well as others from dire situations, scientists have been elevating everyone’s lifestyle via their noteworthy inventions. Looking at the last 100 years of scientific advances and their impact on humanity, undoubtedly these scientific prodigies are the best in terms of influencing the world.