It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

In this modern era, lots of new technology has developed by experts, owing to this trend, it is been assumed that, individuals will have more leisure time in 21st century. I believe that It would turned compeletely wrong because inflation and desires will arise a lot which will not be allow persons to enjoy fee time. Which I will demonstrate with suitable illustrations in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, if everything will be done by machines, most of the population might become lazy and can lead to sedentary lifestyle due to this only a few percentage of individuals will be working. So, in every field production will decrease and demand will increase. This trend can lead to severe inflation in upcoming time. For instance, in America, inflation is very hight, the reason is the same.Thus, the advancement of technology will not have any change to current senario.

Secondly, if they will have extra time then they will be in favour of another income source rather than spending quality time for leisure activities because they would have become more materialist minded. And they will be requiring all those things which they would not have at current stage. In short, their desire and longing for things will arise to huge extent.For example, one of my friend, who has million of money still she rarely gets time for herself. And always complain that she does not have enough time for her own health.

In conclusion, although advanced technology can bring a lot of extra time, they would face issue with inflation and materialist world.