It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past To what extent has this prediction come true

These days, thanks to technological advancements and deep changes in transportation, communication and farming people enjoy more free time than in the past. Airplanes able to break the sound barrier have conquered the sky, bullet trains hurtle to connect distant cities, cars fueled with solyr energy are nowadays reality. In the dawn of the time, humans had to rely on their legs or on horses and nothing has really changed for almost thousands of years. The most remarkable breaktrough was the introduction of the automobile, which has dramatically narrowed the distance between places. Then came the train, the airplane. All of these inventions have shrinked the time needed to reach a destination, ensuing more time available as a tangibly result.

Many believe that time is the most precious good we have. It cannot be baught, borrowed or even stolen but it can be wasted, misused and there is no way to get it back. For this reason, humans have thirsted over solutions to manage theit time as much efficently as possible. The technological growth have found its own way in other fields, not only in transportation. For example, let us consider appliances. Dishwashers, driers, washing machines, mixers, hoovers are nowadays essential part of every household and a life without them would be extremely more annoying. People do not have to waste hours in cleaning up apartments or washing dishes and they can use this time in a more proficient way, by learning, studying or simply relaxing.

I strongly believe that technology is the best ally of man. Afterall, someone said that the history of mankind is basically the history of technology. Beside improving our health and lengthening our life expectancy, inventions have a positive effect on our day to day life, making possible to reduce waste of time and to allowing us to focus on more important issues.