Education from preschool through university should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students To what extent do you agree or disagree

The discussion whether the government should provide free education for everyone is still up for debate. While centuries ago more practical priorities had a major role in the daily life, nowadays citizens regard education as something they have a right to and, therefore something to be actively pursued. Moreover, it is a common belief that education should be completely free. The aim of this essay is to weigh the pros and cons of this stance and to propose solutions to correct some flaws.

Although education is a basic right, in still too many countries children, women, and low-income people cannot afford to attend a school, let alone a college. Sadly, this situation is quite common in developing countries and the high illiteracy percentage mirrors the characteristics widespread in those parts of the planet: corruption, lack of political vision, inefficiency. Plagued by those conditions, poor countries are often unable to guarantee even a basic level of education. As a consequence, the economy cannot keep up with other nations and an economic growth is virtually impossible.

On the other hand, developed countries have plenty of resources they can spend on education. Illiteracy is practically only a far memory from the past and children have the right to receive a complete and sound education. Nevertheless, other aspects should be taken into account. First, education has its price too. Although basic education is free in all the west countries, tertiary education is sometimes still prerogative of well-off families. For instance, fees college in the USA are so high, that in some cases students have to take a loan to cover the costs related to their studies. However, it is possible to receive a grant or aid government. This approach is usually widespread in European countries whose educational system is usually fund by fiscal revenue. Although the system is not entirely free since students have to pay some of the fees, accordingly to many observers, this is the best way to guarantee education for all without excessively burdening the government budget.

To conclude, the path followed by several European states seems to represents a reliable compromise between right to education and financial stability. Governments should therefore consider way to guarantee free or assisted access to education while supervising financial expense at the same time.