The increase in people s life expectancy means that they have to work older to pay for their retirement One alternative is that people start to work at a younger age Is this alternative a positive or negative development

Thanks to improvements in medical and scientific field, life expectancy has considerably increased. These days it is common to see people living up to 80 years with minor or no health problems at all. In developed countries high standards of living combined with economic stability allow citizens not only to have a successful career but also to face up illnesses once regarded as a deadly. However, concerns have risen about the side effects of living longer. It might sound weird to the ears of the most, but the economic impact of this trend can be devastating.

Attempt of elonging life has been around for centuries and the desider of immortality has its roots back to the early civilazations. In the middle age life expectancy was around 30 years, raised up to 55 at the beginning of the 20th century and for the year 2020 was 72 years, which represents a giant leap. Impressive progress in several fields, such as medicine, science, biology, chemistry have made it possibile for humans to age well. Yet many experts underline the potential negative consequences behind tendency and for good reason.

A higher life expectance is linked to higher costs as governments around the world have to pay pensions and subsidize the healthcare system to take care of the elderly. To address this demand governments traditionally rely on tax payers, which becomes more and more difficult when a growing percentage of the population gets older and does not work anymore. As a consequence public deficit grows, taxes go up and the economy shrinks. Solutions have been proposed like increasing retirement age which in turn might ignite another even worse problem: youth unemployment. In some countries like Italy or Spain 30% of the people aged between 15 and 24 is seeking for a job. Keeping at work people who should retire will only exarcebate a burning situation and not solve the problem of financial deficit at all. A more practical solution would be to cut on pensions and keep taxation low to boost the economy.

A solid, free economy is the backbone of a strong society where young adults have the possibility to build their own career and contribute to the economic growth of their country while retired can enjoy their spare time.