Nowadays children are consuming too many sugar based drinks What are the reasons and the solutions for this situation

Several researcher have warned about the risks of assuming sugar based drinks, especially among children. An excessive intake of sugar can lead to severe deseases that can threath the cardiovascular system, like obesity, diabetis or coronary. Some carbonate drinks have been found to have a detrimental effect on the dental and general health of people It is therefore essential to educate children to cut down on foods and beveragse that contain sugar and to opt for low sugar products. Sugar is contained naturally in many vegtables and fruits so that theoretically it would be unnecessary to add it to what we drink or eat.

The mean reason why children and adults as well love drinking soft drinks is essentially due to the fact that sugar creates a strong addiction, like tobacco or alcohol, Furthermore, soft drinks supply energy only and are of little nutritional benefit and lack micro-nutrients, vitamins and minerals.

The spread of obesity among children have raised major concerns in the scientific community over the high levels of sugar contained in some beverages. In the wake of this dangerous habit, medical experts are calling for actions to tackle this threath, like increasing taxation on sugar based drinks or banning them from vendor machines in schools.

Diseases ensued by an exaggerate consumption of sugar represent a serious challenge to our society and can put the healthcare system to its limits. In order to flatten the curve of obesity spread among children, some simple but nevertheless efficient measures can be taken: first of all, alimentation should be taught at school, so that children can become aware of the danger of an unhealthy diet. Secondly, consumption of sugar based drinks and foods should be discouraged through higher taxation, whose revenues can be employed to subsidize the healthcare system and to cure obesity.