Most countries allow 18 years old to start driving a car Some say it is good to allow it at this age while other think that the age to start driving should be at least 25 Discuss both sides and give your opinion

In most countries it is commonplace to allow eighteen-year-old to get a driving license. However, concerns have risen about this trend resulting in proposals calling for permitting driving only for people older than 25 years. In a world where governments allow young to enjoy the military or have a gun even when they are 17, I find these concerns totally out of place. In this essay therefore I will briefly examine the possible reasons hidden behind this issue and try to convince you that driving is not a matter of age but a matter of ability.

To underpin the statement that only who is older than 25 should take a driving license, the supporters of this line base their opinion on an unproven idea that has been around for centuries: young are basically driven by emotions and love risks. Well, although there could be some seeds of truth in this statement, it is not a valid reason to forbid 18-year-olds to start driving. According to several studies, the percentage of teenagers involved in crash accidents is still high. Auto accidents are sadly the leading cause of death for teens ages 15 to 20. A strong point for those who claim driving should be allowed after the 25. There are however some aspects it is worth shedding a light on. What statistics also say, is that the most accidents happen due to inexperience, distraction, and consumption of alcohol. If we take a closer look to these points, what it comes out as a result is that postponing the legal driving age to 25 would be no solution.

To begin with, inexperience is not just a matter of age. Let us imagine this way: two guys one aged 18 and the other one 25 try for the first time to drive. No one has a previous experience so the outcome will be probably the same. Both of them are going to make some mistakes. This is completely normal and due not to the age itself, but to the lack of experience. Paradoxically, a 18-year-old by the age of 25 will have roughly gained seven years driving experience. Going on to the second point, distractions, we can find that texting, mailing, or watching videos while driving are harmful habits spread in a large percentage of drivers, without regard for age. Third, based on data from traffic accidents, alcohol-impaired crashes are largely caused by drivers in their 30s.

In conclusion, in the light of the considerations above, raising the legal driving to 25 would ensure no benefits at all. What really prevent auto accidents are safe roads, proper signage, reliable cars, and intensive training. Driving examiners should also play a pivotal role in this scheme before handing over the car key to teens who could not yet be fully prepared to overcome the obstacles they have to face up when at the wheel.