Most countries allow 18 years old to start driving a car. Some say it is good to allow it at this age, while other think that the age to start driving should be at least 25. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people argue that youngsters with the age of 18 should be allowed to drive a car, while other believe that the drivers should be a minimum of 25 years of age. Although driving a car for youngsters has a lot of benefits, this essay believes that driving should only be allowed when you grow older.

On the one hand, a youngster can bring a lot of benefits to himself and his/her family by driving. First of all, it will be easier for a youngster to commute to college and he/she does not have to stand in long queues for public transportation. This means he/she will easily reach in time to attend the classes and this will improve his/her punctuality. Furthermore, he/she can take his/her parents to anywhere they wish to and help them in the household things while the parents can rest in their old age. For example, parents will be in comfort when their son/daughter is helping them in monthly grocery, any trip to any event or occasion etc. However, despite the above argument, I believe that youngster should not be allowed to drive.

On the other hand, drivers with the age of 25 can bring in a lot of maturity and caution which is necessary for safety of the driver and other passengers. This means that drivers of this age will be more patient and will not indulge themselves in any road races with other cars while youngsters often get involved in car racing due to their aggression and immaturity which can result in accidents. Moreover, they will be more aware of the road hazards and speed limits which will be beneficial for the safety of the driver and other passengers on the road. For example, it was reported in ‘Gulf News’ that 60 out of 80 accidents in 2017 in Dubai were caused by drivers aging between 18 to 24 due to careless driving and over speeding. Based on the above argument, I believe that drivers should only be allowed to drive with a minimum age of 25 years.

In conclusion, although driving in young age can bring a lot of advantages, I believe that road and passengers safety should be preferred and hence, drivers should only be allowed to drive when they grow at least 25 years old so that they can bring in maturity and safety while driving.