Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily Why do people but things they do not really need Do you think this is good thing

In the past people used to mend and repair itmes that were broken. It was commonplace to resew worn out clothes or fix old shoes, by replacing sole and laces. Due to the shortage of clothings or due to difficult financial situations, people had to struggle to find ways to protect them from the winter or have functioning farming tools.

These days things have changed for the better: industrialization has taken place in most of the countries in the world and factories are now able to produce items in such a speed and quantity as it has never been seen before. The increase of productivity has mostly positive aspects on our day to day life. Shortage of food or any sort of supplies are today unusual and almost only a far memory of the past. Supermarkets, grocery stores, clothing stores are actually fool of items so that people have the possibility to choose what they most desire to pick up.

This rather bright aspect of industrialization should not, however, make us blind to the fact there are some drawbacks we should highlight. First of all, in order to keep the engine on, people are somwhow encouraged to buy rather than to repair. If consumers stop purchising brand new items and switch to repair them, many companies will have to face financial hardhips and massive redundancies. Secondly, some items can be crappy assembled, so that they do not just function properly after the warranty period has expired. In this case, repair is not granted by the producer and consumers are forced t buy a new item. Thirdly, there is world made of advertising, magazines, reports and reviews that revolves around the market. To satisfy the expectations of those subjects, companies produce always more sophisitcated items, like more powerful samrtphones, brighter TVs or lighter notebooks, which people do not really need .

In the race for the most modern item, people end up by spending unnecessarily amount of money that could be better invested. To make a tangible example, some regard a two-year-old computer as junk that has to be scrapped. In truth, old computers can function as good as new models and the average user would not notice any difference. Furthermore, some parts can be easily replaced and reliable operating systems can be installed for free. In this case, as we can see, there would be no need to throw away a functioning computer to buy another one. Te throw-away society only damages the environment, sharpens pollution and ensue an unnecessary rush of consumerism.