Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal Some people however think that other types of progress are equally important for a country Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

While many governments focus on finding ways to boost their economies, concerns arise among people who believe authorities should shift the attention to other relevant points. In the eyes of numerous citizens, questions like social justice, affordable housing, and an efficient healthcare system are as priority as economic growth. Although citizens might be right, it is only trough economic stability and financial growth that is possible to provide high quality services to the whole country.

Economic growth has always been the primary goal of governments. It is a truth that, after all, only developed and rich countries can not only play a shaping role in foreign policy but also be able to meet the demands of their own citizens. For those who live in countries marred by corruption, political instability, and lack of infrastructure, basic needs like education and medical treatments remain out of reach, let alone high living standards.

From the examples mentioned above emerges clearly the necessity of focusing efforts to strengthen the economical tissue of a nation. Governments that can rely on high revenues can in turn invest a considerable amount of financial resources in education, healthcare, social politics, and assistance programs. Regarded by the majority as essential earmark of a developed country, these services, however, are linked to expense which have to be covered.

For this reason, just as necessary as defining priorities is finding the necessary resources to carry them out. If a government did not make a point of developing the economy, citizens would face up to poverty, misery, illiteracy, corruption, and political instability. The consequences of this strategy would be detrimental. Not only foreign investors would avoid to venture into such a unstable economy, but also citizens would suffer from social inequality and lack of basic assistance.

To conclude it is worth mentioning that economic growth is the bedrock of a strong society where everybody has the potential to improve his life and nobody is left alone. Governments should thus concentrate their efforts to consolidate the economy in order to provide citizens high quality services, like an innovative educational system, reliable and cutting edge medical treatments, and affordable housing.