Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities To what extent do you agree Use specific details and examples to explain your view

Recent years have witnessed increased awareness of the importance of intellectual skills at work as well as at school. Problem solving, analytical thinking, and synthesis are only few of the abilities employers look for when it comes to hiring job applicants. Activity groups might not instantly spring to mind when speaking of intellectual skills. However, many claim that enjoying such activities could indeed help improve those qualities.

Trying to define intellectual skills is not easy. About it, psychologists, doctors, and sociologist have written so much over the last decades, that is virtually impossible to sum up in few lines the outcomes of this work. Briefly, intellectual skills are the methods an individual use to analyze or organize information and data. Workplaces today bear little resemblance to the past: besides basic knowledge, employees must now show other qualities like critical thinking, creativity, problem solving, and self-assessment, which can be hardly - or even not - learned at school.

Recent research found out that group activities can actually represent an effective way to improve intellectual skills. How does it work? Well, first of all, activity groups nudge people to connect to each other, which in turn means sharing opinions, voicing solutions, and trying to overcome obstacles. Secondly, it reinforces the boundaries between colleagues. As a consequence, employees enjoying group activities, would be likely more competitive and resilient than others who do not. If a team does not cooperate, changes are that lack of communication and critical thinking play a major role in the problem. Consequently, steps should be taken to iron out discrepancies that, over time, may lead up companies to an economic failure.

In conclusion, joining group activities should be encouraged by employers in the light of the fact that such activities have a beneficial outcome on the performance and in the long term are going to pay off.