Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world s fuel resources To what extent do you agree or disagree

Along cars and trains, airplanes are without doubt the finest achievement of human ingenuity. Planes have made it possible what once seemed to be unreachable: flying. The technological progress has been steadily going forward over the last decades, so that airplanes can fly more safely and faster than ever before. Despite these undeniable improvements, environmental concerns have risen due to the potential impact on air pollution. As a possible solution air travel restriction has been proposed, which however seems to be impracticable as it would have detrimental effects on the economy.

Aviation is a strategic field for the economy: according to statistics, millions of passengers use airplanes for travel or business; airports have become more than just busy areas, they are now crucial sectors for exports, imports, and tourism. Even if it is essential to weigh the negative impacts on the environment, such as air pollution, traffic, and noise, it is also true that a country that does not invest on infrastructure and aviation is destined to an economic collapse. Furthermore, several studies have shown that airplanes are not to blame for high air pollution levels. Conversely, car emissions and waste from factories and power plants are indeed more harmful than exhaust gases produced by airplanes.

It would be therefore more logical to tackle the problem by reducing car usage, subsidizing public transportation, and supporting renewable energies. In the globalized world, planes are instrumental in narrowing distances, building bridges among nations, increasing economic wealth, and bringing quick aid to the needy living in underdeveloped countries. In conclusion, although it is vital to take care of the environment, I would not recommend to restrict air travel because this step could have a devastating impact on the economy of the whole planet.