Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development but some important social values are lost as a result Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages

Governments all over the world aim to improve their citizens' living standard focusing on the economy. Although this a common and accepted policy, some claim that by following this road vital values are lost. The aim of this essay is to illustrate how economic development does actually bring benefits without destroying social values.

Developing a strong and sound economy has always been regarded as a priority by governments. Maintaining high living standard of the population is felt as a duty by many politicians who lead developed nations. When it comes to developing countries, where sometimes people struggle to survive or some areas are plagued by famine and drought, it is harder for politicians to guarantee decent living standard. Several factors are responsible for detrimental living conditions: low technological level, lack of an educational system, poor industrialization and the absence of reliable healthcare system. In the wake of the facts mentioned above, it is clear that the only way governments have to improve citizens' condition is to focus the effort on building a powerful economy. Every action takes its toll and in this case pollution, corruption and inequality should be taken into account. The way that leads to high living standard is an uphill battle but it is worth fighting it. It is essential to sustain free enterprises, funding science and to allocate adequate financial resources for the educational system.

Although industrialization is basically the only accepted and proved way that can lead to a general improvement of living standard, many claim that in the effort to accomplish this challenge, many values can be lost. The list of values on the brink of extinction is long and ranges from environmental concerns to corruption to consumerism. I think that every form of society has its own drawbacks. When it comes to people who live in underdeveloped countries, governments should of drastically improving living conditions a priority. Furthermore, it is completely wrong to affirm that countries that aim to focus on economic growth are lacking of social values. Respect, commitment, solidarity can exist also under fully capitalistic society. in every developed countries people create associations to help the needy or dedicate some of their spare time to support charity organizations.

In conclusion, from my point of view there is no evidence that investing resources in developing the economy can affect negatively the values at the base of our society. Wealth and financial stability are conditions every citizen should have a right to and therefore governments should take any necessary steps to improve the material conditions of the people.