There is increase of noise in our daily lives nowadays Why is this a problem What can be done to reduce it The noise pollution is increasing at an alarming rate around the globe I shall shed some light on the possible causes of increasing noise and wha

Traffic jams, rolling trains, and roaring airplanes has become a constant in our daily life. If there is no doubt that the technological conquests of the last decades have dramatically improved our living conditions, drawbacks have also to be taken into account. Beside air pollution and garbage, one of the most annoying consequences of living in the cities is noise. The aim of this issue is to investigate the reasons of this problem and to propose solution to tackle it.

Accordingly to several studies, the amount of noise in our cities has increased over the past years reaching sometimes harmful levels for our health. The reasons behind this issue are multiple and basically root in traffic congestion. Less tangibly but not less importantly, airplanes contribute to sharpen the problem, though in a way that is not comparable with the noise caused by car usage. Especially for people living directly near busy streets, the noise levels they are exposed to can be extremely hard to tolerate. The side effects ensuing acoustic pollution range from lapses in concentration to lack of sleep. If some of those negative aspects have little or no impact on our performance and health, others can conversely cause severe diseases. The consequences of sleep deprivation, for instance, should not be underestimated since they are scientifically proved to be linked to diabetes and cardiovascular problems. Yet, there is good news.

Recent years have witnessed an increased awareness about environmental issues. Since then authorities have made of taking actions to detonate an ecologic disaster a priority. Governments are allocating resources to fund alternative energy sources to reduce not only the amount of carbon dioxide emissions but also the level of acoustic pollution. Furthermore, low-tech solutions like double glazing have turned out to be very effective against noises coming form outside. Another weapon to fight acoustic pollution is certainly public transport, perhaps the foremost valid solution to curb all the negative effects of traffic congestion.

In conclusion, noise is a fixed component of modernity. It is the price we have to pay to use cars, trains, and airplanes. Although it is almost impossible to remove it completely, it is also true that we can live with thanks to uncountable solutions ranging from electric cars to thick windows.