Some people prefer to buy local products while others prefer international products To what extent do you agree or disagree

In the wake of globalization purchasing habits have undergone a massive change over the last decades so that it is not difficult to split buyers into two categories: those who have shifted their attention to international products, and the ones who still rely on local goods. Whether the benefits lay on one side or on the other is still up for debate and this essay will analyze the pros and cons of this trend.

The concept of globalization has been around for many decades. It may sound surprising, but globalization can be traced back to the roman empire, which had ruled the ancient world for almost thousand years. Its military strength was not the only ingredient of its success. Busy roads and intense commercial exchanges made it possible to build a strong economical system every citizen could virtually profit from. As we can see, already in the ancient time, people could buy items coming from the most remote corners of the empire. Technological advancement, the rise of the Internet has certainly changed the way we look at our world, but the demand for valuable goods has remain intact over the centuries.

These days as in the past customers pay attention essentially to two aspects when it comes to buying: price and quality. As long as buyers can get to reliable goods for an affordable price, the origin of a product remains a minor detail. That is probably the reason behind the behavior of several customers who seek for items on international markets. Especially in this time, this can be a wise choice: shipping prices have significantly dropped, pace of production in developing countries is steadily ramping up, so that ordering items from all over the world has become convenient.

On the other side, voices rise in defense of local production that they see endangered by big corporations like Amazon or multinational companies. Although these companies not only operate in the digital world but actually create jobs in the real economy, several stores can not simply compete with those giants and in some cases they sadly vanish from the business scene.

In conclusion, it is quite tricky to draw a line. For example, I personally prefer to turn to local stores when it comes to buying fresh vegetables, fruit, and meat. Products are fresh and cultivated in the local area, which also helps to reduce the carbon footprint of agriculture. However, there are some items that local industries can not produce, like TV Sets, computers, or cars. In this case, turning to international markets, is not a whim but a necessity.