The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work shopping and education To what extent do you agree or disagree

Air pollution caused by traffic has become a major issue in most developed countries. Although the car industry has undergone deep technological improvements, exhaust emissions represent still a letal threath to the environment. Scientific research carried out throughout the past decades, have given extra weight to this delicate issue. As a possible solution to curb the level of pollution, it has been proposed to reduce the usage of car to travel form home to work or go shopping. To some extent I am agree with this view, although I would suggest more aggressive steps to tackle the problem.

Given that the government cannot force people to give up using a car and cannot impose how many miles citizens are allowed to cover by car, the idea although theoretically right, is practically impossible to realize. Another approach should therefore be followed, which is surely easier to establish: subsidizing the public transport.

By improving and making more efficient the net of public transport, like buses, underground and encouraging people to take advantage of those means, traffic jams and the related air pollution will automatically decrease. Additional benefits -that can pass unnoticed at first but have a major impact on the everyday life - occur to the people who choose to ride public tranportation: they do not have to waste time looking for a free park lot, they do not have to spend money on gasoline and they can enjoy the trip to work and back home reading or listening to the music. According to several researcher public transportatio can ease the traffic congestion, reduce harmful carbon-dioxide emissions by cars, reduce the individual´s carbon footprint and provide an affordable alternative to driving. It is not only good for the environment, it also a good for the wallet. According to the American Public Transport Associations , households that use public transporttion save an average of 6000 Dollars every year

To sum up, I think that rather than taking actions against drivers, officials should find alternatives ways like funding public transportation, which would have a positive impact not only on the environment but on the whole economy as well.