Some businesses observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues What could be the reason for this What solutions can help address this problem

If there is no doubt that graduates have an edge over other appicants, it is also that having a degree is not enough. In the wake of this fact, graduates have to add value to their curriculum developing some extra traits employers value at most, like focus, problem solving, energy and interpersonal skills. The results of a survey conducted among business owners found out that too many newbies lack of communication abilities which are critical when it comes to developing an efficient working place.

Clear communciation is crucial to running a business smoothly. Lack of clarity leads inevitably to misunderdtandings that can negatively affect a company and in turn has a detrimental impact on its revenue and financial stability. Givent that abilities like public speaking and effective communication have become more and more requested over the last years, universities are making a priority to offer courses about communicationto attract students and to prepare them for the challenges brought about by the 21sth century economy.

The reasons which lead to a lack of interpersonals skills are several and can be linked to the technological development of the last decades. The digital revolution that has made our life more comfortable has its downsides too. For example, it has become commonplace nowadays to send emails to our collegues rather than to speak with them. Although this can be a good practice, since it is basically faster and can be traced, it can be tricky as well. Sometimes it happens that emails are not read so that something important, like a deadline, can be missed. Sometimes a simple conversation it is still the best way to communicate.

To tackle the problem, companies should invest more resources in developing programs aimed to improve the communciation level inside the work place. Furthermore, employees should play their part too, by avoiding exaggerate use of digital tool, like emails or testing and rely more on personal talking.