Some businesses observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solutions can help address this problem?

Communication skills are vital for an employee to survive in any organization. In the recent times, most of the corporate companies are recruiting fresh minds from the colleges who are not efficient in the interpersonal behaviour skills. This essay discusses the causes of this behaviour in the fresh graduates and possible solutions to overcome it.

In the study environment, students will focus mainly on the subject matter rather than the essential skills needed for their career progression. Pupils are forced by the parents and teachers to get good marks in the exam, due to this; students’ concentrates only on the educational subjects and become less proficient in the interpersonal skills. According to a recent study by a renowned magazine, 80% of the persons who are successful in their student life are facing difficulties in the business organizations, due to the lack of communication skills.

A possible solution to this problem would be implementing communication skills as a part of the curriculum from the college level. Special classes or training sessions could be arranged for the students to improve the skills which are essential for their effective communication with the colleagues in their organizations. The educational institution can arrange the guest lectures by Human Resource personnel from well-known organizations to indulge the practices into students by familiarizing them. For example, a survey by IBM indicates that the professionals who are trained in communication skills outperformed than the employees who are not trained.

To conclude, that lack of interpersonal skills in the fresh graduates leads to the ineffective workforce in the business. To eradicate this problem, the educational system has to be revamped to make the pupils become masters in the communication skills. This can be achieved by including communication skills as part of their academic curriculum.