Excessive consumption of sugar causes many health related issues. Some people believe the government should control population’s sugar intake while others think people themselves should be responsible for their sugar eating habits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sugar is the sweet substance produced from sugarcane, the increased consumption of sweet substances causes many health problems. Some people argued that the government should be responsible for reducing the sugar intake, while others believe that people should take of themselves. This essay agrees that people themselves should take care of their eating habits.

People should be self-responsible for their eating habits. Although the sugar intake is essential for the body to work efficiently, excessive consumption leads to the health problems like diabetes, obesity etc..Diabetes is a disease which leads to many complications like diabetic retinopathy and diabetic inspidus. People should do physical exercise to reduce the effects of the heavy intake of sugar. According to the survey of Times, persons who do the rigorous exercise leads a happy life compared to who did not.

Frequent consumption of the sugar is due to the wide availability of the sugar and its products. The government should take measures to control the intake of sugar by imposing huge taxes on sugar and related substances. This leads to an increase in the price of the product thus reduces consumption. Authorities should also conduct campaigns to create awareness among the population about the adverse effects caused by the excessive consumption of sugar. Although the Government is making effects to reduce sugar consumption, it is the self-responsibility of the people to control their eating habits. For example, a recent study conducted by the Diabetic Association of India revealed that levying taxes and creating awareness constitute only 30% of the reduction, whereas remaining 70% of the reduction is due to healthy eating habits followed by the individuals are the reasons for curbing the problems associated with sugar consumption.

In conclusion, sugar consumption in less quantity is beneficial for the health and in large amount leads to many health issues. Although the government is taking measures to curb the problem related to this issue, it is the personal responsibility of the people to control their eating habits.