Excessive consumption of sugar causes many health related issues. Some people believe the government should control population’s sugar intake while others think people themselves should be responsible for their sugar eating habits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sucrose consumption has increased these days due to wider use of energy drinks, colas, milkshakes and processed fruit juices. Few believe that authorities should regulate this intake but others believe self-restraint is best practice to avoid potential health risks. This essay will discuss both the views and my opinion.

Some people believe that governments have to regulate sugar intake, like they do with drugs. According to the online survey conducted by a famous magazine, 80% of respondents feel that governments have to take serious measures to cut down sugar consumption by its public. For instance, when sucrose content was regulated in a small country like Bhutan, the public has better control over their health. Therefore, it is advisable to regulate the sugar content in processed foods or drinks. However, even if governments control sucrose intake, people can still scout ways to consume high sugar, by adding them externally to the food or drinks they buy, this would render the government’s control futile, isn’t that true?

While some people believe that individuals should limit their sucrose intake voluntarily. This is the best possible solution for good health. If governments control sugar intake, then a large section of people would feel that governments are snatching away their freedom. For instance, governments couldn’t able to control nicotine and alcohol consumption in the past, although they are harmful to public health. According to research conducted by university of Connecticut, any bad habit that is self-abstained will be fruitful, rather than controlling the habit with authority.

This essay has discussed both views regarding sugar intake by people of a nation. In my opinion people should control sugar intake by themselves. Government's interference into these affairs are not advisable and even if governments regulate, the chances of actual control would be slim. Which will collapse the whole purpose of having good health.