In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In the recent times, most of the countries peoples are becoming obese and their fitness is decreasing drastically. In this essay, we will discuss the root cause of these problems and methods to mitigate this problem.

Firstly, the main reason for the obesity is the consumption of heavy junk food. This type of food is not easily digestible by our digestive system; because of this reason undigested food is converted in to fat and deposited as visceral fat in the body. This accumulation of fat leads to the obesity in the people. As per the survey of world health organization, 90% of the obesity population is due to the consumption of high-fat food, and remaining 10% is due to the genetic disorders, which makes them susceptible to fat accumulation. In order to eradicate this problem, the government should levy high taxes on the junk food, which makes the food costlier, so that people cannot afford to buy the junk food, hence, reduction in the consumption will be observed. This leads to reduced problems related to obese.

Finally, the reason for the deterioration of the health and fitness of the people is due to the reduced physical activity. In this busy life, no one is having the time to spend on the physical exercises like walking, jogging and cycling etc. A recent survey indicates that people are not able to allocate the time to physical exercise due to their work pressures and busy schedule. To improve the health and fitness of the people, the government should encourage the local communities to build a community centre with facilities like jogging, walking, swimming and other outdoor activities etc. The corporate should provide the discounts to its employees to encourage the involvement in the physical exercise and they can provide the gym facilities in the companies to its employees. According to the survey in Wipro, their employee performance is increased 10 fold after facilitating the gym on the company premises.

To conclude, the government should impose heavy taxes on junk food and encourage local communities to build the exercise facilities to improve the health and fitness of its generation. Also, the employers need to provide subsidized gym facilities to improve the wellness among its employees.