Some people think that having a high number of young people graduating from universities is beneficial for a country Others however believe sending a high number of young people to university leads to high levels of graduate unemployment Discuss both s

Over the last decades the numbers of students graduating from universities has steadily grown. Opinion is still divided when it come to the benefits of getting a degree, with some arguing that a high number of graduates is good news for a country while claim that this can lead to high unemployment levels. The aim of this essay is to weigh the pros and cons of this social condition and to propose solutions to manage it.

Getting a degree is for many students the key to a successful career. There is plenty of evidence of the benefits linked to a degree. First, graduates earn significantly more than non graduates over the course of their career. Second, employers recognize the extra value that graduates bring into an organization, such as motivation and commitment, management, intellectual acumen and flexibility. Furthermore, most of the in-demand and high-paying jobs of the future, like cyber security expert, Artificial Intelligence programmer or electrical engineer require an university degree. In the foreseeable future, technology is going to play a major role in many fields, from industry to farming to healthcare. It is therefore essential for a country which aims to keep up with competitors around the world, to sustain universities and to provide a high number of skilled graduates.

On the other hand, many express some concerns in the light of the fact that an alarming high percentage of graduates is not able to find the job related to their studies. Far too often academic achievement is seen as the only route to secure a good job. The truth is that there is a wide variety of routes leading to great careers. Additionally, skills like motivation, energy, problem solving and target setting are aspects that are tuned and honed through practical experience. Those are skills that employers appreciate at most and a straight degree might actually not be enough. From mechanical engineering to design, many careers can be entered via apprenticeships or qualifications from further education colleges. With nearly half of 20-year-olds enrolled in high education, students should be aware they are no more the elite they were once. Unemployment among graduates can be devastating. In some cases, after having invested a lot of money in education, graduates are forced to accept underpaid jobs that have nothing to share with their studies.

In conclusion, governments should take actions to reduce the percentage of unemployment among graduates. Providing high education is related to high cost not only for students themselves bu also for the country itself. There is no point therefore to send students to university if the market is not then able to offer them proper jobs.