Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects Other people think that in today s world subjects like science and technology are more important than history Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Due to the rapid technological changes happened in the last decades, the role of the educational system has undergone deep transformations too. It is not only the fact that computers have become a standard tool in teaching and that science can be taught easily thanks to the Internet. What is changed is also the attitude toward teaching, since many experts suggest students to focus on scientifical subjects rather than spend theri energies and time in subject like history.

Once regarded as the major subject at school, nowadays history has been gradually losing its shine, dethroned by scientific subjects. Being able to satisfy the demand of electronical appliances and to develop cutting-edge technologies governments from allo over the world are allocating huge financial resources in this field. The matter has such a high priority that a new term has been coined, STEM, which stands for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.The acronym originates from discussions about the lack of graduates to work in high-tech jobs. In order to address this shortfall, universities around the world have made attracting students to STEM courses a priority.

It is no surprise therfeore that these days, subjects like literature or history play a minor role in our world. Governments, universities and the opinion in general feel that this subjects are not crucial to maintaining high level of employment or providing outstanding and innovative medical treatments. On the other hand, for some people history has still today its importance. As a matter of fact, history teaches us a lot about our past and can help to better understand our society and in some cases to learn from the mistakes of the past in order to do not repeat them in the future. Furthermore, reading about history can be extremely interesting, given that the reader has the possibility to travel through the time, by meeting famous historic characters and following them in their life.

In conclusion, from my point of view, history does not play a pivotal role in our school system and I believe that greater importance should be given to scientific subjects, because we need well-prepared graduated in order to face up to the challenges of the 21st century.