Having a good university degree guarantees people a good job To what extent do you agree

University degrees date back to the late 12th century, although until about 100 years ago they were exclusively linked to the church. At the beginning of the 20th century they became more available and today roughly 40% of the 20-year-olds students go to university. With those figures it becomes clear that the chance of getting a graduate job are narrower than in the past, but it also shows that employers are less willing to hire applicants without a degree.

Opinion is divided when it comes to the benefit of getting a degree. Experts who believe that having a degree is an edge over other applicants, underline the fact that graduates eanr significantly more than non graduates over the course of their career. They point out, that students should choose carefully not only the subject they want to study but the university they would attend. It is therefore crucial to select a degree program that will develop employability skills as well as give subject knoweledge. In addition to this fact, it is also important that students use their time proficiently, making the most of extra-curricular opportunities available in order to stand out from the competition and secure their perfect job.

On the other hand, others claim that a straight degree might not be enough on its own. Employers demand skills and often work experience as well. Meanwhile developing entreprise and people skills, as well as specialist skills is pivotal. Skills like motivation, independent thinking, problem solving, self-assesment, target setting, energy and focus to finish complex tasks are what employers value most.

In conclusion, far too often, accademic achievement is seen as the only route to securing a good job, but the truth is that there is a wide variety of routes to great careers. From mechanical engineering to design, many careers can be entered via apprenticeships, qualifications from futher education colleges or tailored training schemes in the workplace.