In many countries plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Plastic has been regarded as one of the foremost breakthrough of the last century and this for good reason. At the time this material revolutionized the industry, making it able to assemble products that were light to carry, virtually unbreakable and affordable. Plastic was the key material that made possible the serial production of computers, TVs, appliances as well as construction material. Unfortunately, over the decades plastic has been produced in such a huge amount, that the environment is overwhelmed with it. Many food and drink companies still rely on plastic to wrap their products, sharping on this way the pollution levels. On the other hand, we should also mention that plastic plays a pivotal role in our day to day life. In this essay I will thus weigh the pros and cons of using plastic and propose some solutions to mitigate the negative effects on the environment.

Since the mid twentieth-century, plastic has made it into our daily life. Thanks to its physical properties this material is extremely versatile and can perennially reused. It is malleable, light, ductile, flexible and rigid at the same time. It can be employed in building cars, computers, machines and appliances. It is also instrumental when it comes to packaging. Food and beverage industries can safely wrap their products in plastic containers and deliver them to supermarkets where customers can pick them from shelves and take them home without running the risk of damaging the content. A life without plastic would be therefore quite difficult to imagine.

On the other hand, although the facts mentioned above depict a rather bright side of plastic, there are also drawbacks that we should take into account. Firstly, plastic is a very durable material and to provide a tangible example, the plastic bags we use daily need from 10 to 1000 years to decompose in landfills. Secondly, research carried out in our oceans found out that water is plagued from microplastic, which actually poses a serious threat for small fishes. Many of them eat those minute pieces of plastic and die. Small changes in the survival of larval fishes can translate into large changes in fish populations with cascading effects up the food chain.

Although I think that plastic remains an essential material, I also believe that its usage should be reduced as reasonably possible in order to curb the effects of plastic on the environment. For example plastic can be recycled and many supermarkets have already banned plastic bags. Instead of going shopping with a plastic bag a good alternative would be using a cotton tote bag. This will have positive effects on our environment as well as on our wallet.