Some international companies are very powerful now and many people believe that it is negative development Do you agree or disagree with this statement Give your reasons and relevant examples

One of the most tangible effect of globalization is the rise of gigantic companies which can rely on subbranches settled all over the world and in most cases are so powerful that can influence government´s decisions. Many see in this feature a danger for our society, while others believe that large companies have a benefical impact on the economy. In this essay I will examine those two opposite visions and try to weigh up the plus and the minues.

Starting with the downsides, the most remarkable is the negative influence that such companies can have on the operate of a party, a mayor or in the worst case, of an entire government. Powerful companies can bank on revenues in the order of billions of dollars, so that bribery and corruption can become a tried and tested weapon that can be used to have an edge over weaker competitors. What can be thus the consequences of thisbehaviour? First of all, the lack of competition leads invetibably to shrink the numbers of choices customer could potentially take advantage of, which can in turn have a detrimental impact on the quality of services and products. Usually low quality is the earmark of companies that have the monopoly on providing some products. In addtion to this fact, the follow out on the environment should be taken into account as well. Without strickt control form autohoristies and by massive corruption of officials, big companies can operate almost above the law, by exceeding the limits on gas exhaust or not providing enough safety measures for its employeers.

The silver lining of powerful companies is essentially due to the fact that they are able to provide economic safety, development and several opportunities for young graduates. Usually these companies offer outstanding career often in high-tech fields like mechanic, informatic or engineering. In most of the cases, perks and rewards based on permormance are granted for working hard employeers. Underdeveloped countries from Africa to Asia to South America have profited from the creation of subbranches in theri regions, which has helped to curb social injustice, poverty and misery.

As we can see from the examples above, it is hard to establish clearly whether huge companies are something positive or negative. I would say that if the government can effciently control them by cracking down on corruption and bribery, those corporation have the potential to represent an incredible source of weahlty and opportunity for everyone.