Adults do very less exercise these days Some people think that showing sporting events on the television such as Olympics and international tournaments can be the best way to encourage adults to do exercise Others believe there are other effective ways to

At the dawn of the world, humans had made a living on hunting and fishing. In a world plagued with famine and drought our ancestors had to struggle to survive against fierce wild animals and the dreadful force of Nature. Migrations were an ordinary aspect of life and sometimes a desperate try to escape death and to find a more prosperous land, rich of food and water. This description gives a clue how life at the time could be tough. It gives also another crucial information, maybe hidden, but that many regard as an earmark of our time.

The day of our ancestors was full of movement. They had to climb upon trees, to run faster than animals, to swim and to jump. We can say that they used their body in a so extensive way, humans have never done after that.

Technological development, cutting edge treatments, robotics, appliances have made our life surely more comfortable but many countries have to pay the price for this condition. Sedentary life has become one of the most critical issue in develped countries, ensuing high cost for the healtcare system, loss of productivity and a soaring increase in cardio vascular diseases. Lack of movement has been scientifically proved to be linked to hearth attack, diabetes and ischemic stroke.

Concerned about those dangerous consequences related to a sedentary style of life, many experts have been proposing their solutions. Some claim that broadcasting sport events like the Olympic games could have a positive effect on lazy people.

On the other hand, oppose this view, pointing out that more effective ways should be employed to tackle this problem.

From my point of view I do not believe that jsut watching sporting events on TV could actually push viewers to abandon their sofa to go and do exercise. More effort is needed. In many cases peopl have to give uo bad habits like smoking or eating junk food and it is not that easy. I think therefore that more serious actions should be taken and that government, school, the mass media should play a instrumental role in inspiring and urging people to be more active.

For example governemtnt could subsidize sport programs and put an higher taxation on soft drinks and junk food, in order to curb the consumption of unhealthy sugar and fat. In addtion to this, children should be made aware of the harmful consequences of the lack of a sedentary life, so that they coul be able to develop positive habits since the first years of their life. Finally, mass media should highlight the benefits of an active life, hosting physicians and fintness experts who can give the audience practical advice on how to improve general health condition.

To sum up, if showing sport events on TC does not have side effects, this cannot be seen as the solution for inactivity and lack of movement. Officials and mass media should join their forces to urge people to leave their comfort zone and to be more active.