Successful companies use advertising to make more sales What can make an advertisement very effective Do you think this is a bad thing or a good thing for society

Over the last decades advertising has grown into one of the most powerful industries, capable of generating new professional figures as well as enormous revenues. Since advertising has made it into our daily life, many have concerns whether this has positive or negative effects on our society. In this essay I will briefly examine the earmarks of an effective advertisement and explain why I believe that advertising has a positive impact on our society.

The history of advertising is as long as compelling. At the dawn of its time, ads were tiny and confined in the last newspapers' pages. From the beginning thus, ads had to be short, captivating and focused. These traits are at the basis of modern advertising too. With the technological development, advertisement have changed too. Thanks to visual effect, sounds, computer graphic ads are now more effective and some of them are true pieces of art. The main aim of an ad is basically to boost sales. The trick behind it is to convince customers that they desperately need a product. An advertisement is therefore effective when it strokes the inmost desire of the audience. Studies have shown that when it comes to advertising, we feel first and think later so that the most powerful ads aim directly to our hearth, passions,, hopes and fears.

In the wake of the facts mentioned above, many fear the power of advertising. They claim that ads have the potential of steering customers toward unnecessary purchasing. To some extent, they have a point. On TV, on the radio and above all on the Internet, there is a massive presence of ads. Speaking of the Internet, advertisements have become so precise that they generate targeted suggestions based on users' activity. Concerns about invasion of privacy have risen among many people but we also should say that with some simple clicks it is possible to delete information about our preferences.

On the other hand, I would like to highlight the benefits advertising has on our society. Firstly, it has created an avalanche of professional figures, from computer programmer to video editor to sales representative. Secondly, advertising support customers in the choice of the most suitable product. Advertising is vital for a free market because it boosts competition among companies which in turn leads to high quality products. Thirdly, no one is forced to follow what ads suggest to do. Ads can be easily skipped away by switching channel or closing pop-ups windows.

In conclusion I strongly believe that advertising has a positive influence on our society, since it helps us to compare products and it recommends useful items we can rely on in our daily life. Furthermore it creates also several job vacations, which in turn has an overall beneficial impact on our economy as well.