It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future Do you think it is a positive or negative development

The demographic trends of many developed countries show a steadily increase of the older population. Research carried out in several countries have shown that the percentage of the geriatric population is growing at an unprecedented rate and that by 2050 nearly 17% of the world population will be aged 65 and over. The increasing in aging population presents many benefits but also tough challenges our healthcare system should be prepared for. Life expectancy has dramatically increased in the last decades due to deep improvements in medicine, science and nutrition. People these days live longer, though it does not automatically mean that they live healthier. In this essay I will briefly discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of this phenomen and explain why I think that this situation has a negative impact on our society.

On one hand, many claim that a contry with a high percentage of older people cold have an edge over other nations. To underpin this statement they say that the skills and the knowledge gained by the older generations are an invaluable treasure younger people should take advantage of. Furthermore, since nowadays women have regular jobs too, they play a pivotal role in taking care of children while both parents are at work. In addition to this positive aspects, seniors can teach us a lot from the lessons and from the mistakes of the past, so that we can avoid to make the same mistakes and build a more equal and stronger society.

All these rather brigt aspects should not however make us bilnd of the fact that several disadvantages are linked to an high percentage of older people. In the first place, people who live longer does not necessary live better. Many diseases typical of the old age age, like Alzheimer or Parkinsons, were virtually unknown some decades ago. Sedentary life has become commonplace these days, not only among the youngsters but it affects the elderly as well. Obesity, cardiovascular diseases, hypertension, osteoporosis are only some of the most widespread illnesses that affect people over their 60. Governments have therefore to face up soaring health care spending, accomplishing this effort by raising taxes. Another consequence of population aging is the detrimental effect on the public deficit. Many economic experts warn that if no actions are taken to curb the spending, a lot of countries will have to reckon with recession and financial hardhips.

To conclude, I beleive that governments should take actions in order to avert a financial disaster due to uncontrolled healthcare and pension spending.