Some people think that politicians have the greatest influence on the world Other people however believe that scientists have the greatest influence Discuss both views and give your opinion

Whether politics or science rules the world is still up for debate. A large part of the opinion claim that politicians play a major role in shaping the destiny of a country, while other sustain that scientists actually lead a nation. The aim of this essay is to examine those two different points of view and explain why a strict cooperation between the two fronts is essential for the well of the citizens.

Since the ancient times, humans have tried to give themselves some forms of government. The longing for a charismatic leader or the perfect society is as old as the mankind itself and it has lead to uncountable political experiments, from monarchy to dictatorship to anarchy. Most of them have failed and some of them have also left dramatic footprints on the history. Democracy can be considered as the last step of this path. As we can see form the examples above, politics has always been a constant in the human chronicles. Science has become to rise only from the beginning of the 19th century. Until this period, the authority of politicians - whether they were kings, queens, or representatives - was immense. It was not unusual for scientist to be charged or arrested for publishing theories in contrast with the common belief.

It took decades for science to find its place in the society and to achieve independence form politics. Yet only in the 20th century scientists have gained a key position in disparate fields, from medicine to spacial engineering. As a consequence, living standard have dramatically improved, fueled by steady technological progress. Given all that, there is no doubt that science has a great influence on the conditions of a country.

Nevertheless, the rule of politicians should not be underestimated. Effective leadership is always on of the most primary drivers for growth, development, and innovation. Only through a careful legislation and a wise allocation of financial resources scientist can reach their fullest potential and work for the citizens well-being. Furthermore, politics should also regulate experimentation in order to avoid misuse of treatments that can turn out to be harmful for human beings and animals.

In conclusion, the key role to create a strong, reliable, and efficient society is the cooperation between science and politics. To keep running the engine of a society needs skilled scientists and prepared politicians. The first ones by creating cutting edge technologies, the second ones by managing properly financial revenues.