Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job To what extent do you agree or disagree

When it comes to hiring job applicants high qualifications and experience on the field are usually what employers are seeking for. However, studies recommend recruiters to take into consideration other less tangible but nevertheless critical aspects, like personal qualities. To some extent this statement has some truth to it, although I tend to believe that focusing on personal marks rather than practical skills can have a detrimental effect on a company.

Selecting the right candidate among dozens if not hundreds can be tricky. In some cases recruiter experience some difficulties when it comes to choosing the best candidate for a job position. These days a high percentage of young over their 20s possess a degree and have job experience. Candidates with previous practice who have honed their knowledge ans skills through apprenticeships and valuable training schemes undoubtedly have an edge over other competitors. It is also when the room for choosing becomes narrower that personal skills could play a pivotal role in getting the job. Skills like problem solving, mindfulness, attention, and self-assessment are extremely coveted by companies which need workforce able to focus and solve tasks. As we can see a straight degree even when underpinned by solid qualifications and work experience might not be enough. To execute particular tasks having special personal qualities is the key to master the job. Let us take a practical example: a doctor should obviously be able to diagnose diseases and to find the proper cure but it should also show compassion and kindness to patients, specially when they are children. For this kind of profession, but also other like teacher, nurse, shop assistants, waitress, personal skills can make the difference and be decisive when it comes to evaluating performances. Nobody would feel comfortable being examined by a rude doctor or served by an arrogant waitress.

On the other hand, we should also consider the fact that for other jobs, personal qualities play little or no role at all. Manual jobs, for instance, are a good example to it. A craftsman, an electrician, or a plumber do not necessarily be kind or sensible. When your apartment is about to be flooded or is plunged in the darkest darkness, all that you want is someone being able to fix the problem promptly. To draw a line, personal skills can be essential in some field but completely dispensable in others.

In conclusion, qualifications, experience and personal skills are all factors that should be considered in evaluating candidates. Cheery, open minded workers create for sure a brighter atmosphere at work but what it really counts is that companies hire the most qualified and prepared person for a specific job. To put it another way, employing funny candidates may grant some hours of entertainment but would lead to no results if they are unable to complete their tasks.