Nowadays the crime rate is increasing especially among teenagers What are the reasons behind it How can we reverse this trend What punishment methods should we used

In recent years research found out that crime among teenagers has been dramatically soaring.The aim of this essay is to try to explain the major case of this trand and to propose some solutions to tackle it.

It is well known that crime thrives in poor neighborhood, marred with lack of social services and facilities like hospitals, schools, churches and libraries. Many of those places are on the outskirts of metropolis, where teenagers grow on streets dominated by urban sprawl, gentrification, slums and abandoned buildings. Criminal organization would not fine a more fertile ground to spread the seeds of illegal activities, like dealing drugs or rubbery. Due to the lack of a familiar background and support from school, many teenagers consider crime as an allouring possibility to escape poverty and to earn money quickly. Some become delinquent after making aquaintance with bad company or falling into bad habits. Sadly, a few of them die still in young age. Almost all are destined to end up in prison, throwing away the best years of their life. It is also clear, that governments, schools, teachers, families but also the teenagers themselves should join their forces to take actions against the most common juvenile crimes, like vandalism, shoplifting, assault and robbery.

First of all, officials should spot the most dangerous parts of a city and increase law enforcement´s presence. This first step would benecessary to restore trust in public authority and to protect citizens. Secondly, governments should also allocate resources for decent housing and teenagers should be also given the opportunity to attend after school activities like gym or public libraries. Thirdly, alternative punishment should be taken into account as well. Opinion is still divided when it comes to speakinf of alternative measures although many experts agree that those measurers would be more beneficial not only for the offender but for the victim and the community as well. Community service, to make a tangible example, would be a sound solution for many reasons. It allows offender to learn new skills, to make something useful for the society and to provide services for those who need it most, like old people.

In conclusion, government should make of cracking down on juvenile crime a priority not only by supporting police forces but also by embracing alternative measures which are more effective than prison. Still too many young criminals after serving years in prison are on the edge of becoming repeat offender if the society does not offer valid alternatives to criminal activities.