Employers should focus on personal qualities over qualifications and experience when choosing someone for a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this competitive world, each and every employer is looking for a person who has interpersonal skills as well as qualification with field experience. I strongly opined that employee having both of these skills is very much imperative to survive in this cut-throat competition, from the spectacles of an employer.

To begin with, as industrialisation evolves at a rapid pace, it is likely to have employees who are honest not only to themselves but also to their employers. This quality has somewhat more weightage over other’s quality because employee ethics has a direct relation with the ability to learn new skills and gain required experience. For example, Reliance industry has been choosing employee by his or her personal qualities than the qualification and relevant experience. They also believe that other field related skills can be teachable, whereas personal qualities is the set of beliefs and it can not be reprogrammed as per employer needs. Nevertheless, I believe that, nowadays, qualification and experience is also needed in most of the engineering sectors to thrive, thus qualification and field experience does matter a lot.

On the other hand, employers can not fully forgo the special retirement of job role and therefore they are considering an employee’s degree and previous hands-on projects. Fields such as Information Technology, Automation Engineering very much require the excellent person to carry out a certain task. In these fields, employee selection is also based on employee’s accolades and a number of years relevant field experience. For example, IT companies are hiring a person totally based on their hands-on experience, plus they are less inclined towards their personal qualities as they have to pass most of their time on machines. Additionally, these employers also believe in a fact that when human interaction is not appreciable then personal qualities can be negotiable.

To conclude, I reiterate that both the qualities matters to get and maintain success. Personal qualities has its own worth but most occupations in today’s time require the field experience with affiliated college degrees.