Some people think that to lead a successful life a university degree is important Others believe that this is no longer true nowadays Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Opinion is divided when it comes to the benefit of getting an university degree. Those who claim that a degree is fundamental in having a fulfilled life and a pleasant job, point out that graduates earn significantly more than non graduated student over the course of their career. A degree provides a stepping stone to a successful career as recrutiers recognise the extra value that graduates bring to an organization, such as motivation, commitment, time management, flexibility and of course future potential.

In most of the cases a degree gives an edge over other competitors and in a world where hight-tech jobs and computers are playing a heavy role in the economy, this can represent an enormous advantage. It is not coincidence that universities around the world are making attract students to their STEM courses a priority and that for most of the top ten emerging jobs a degree is mandatory. Some of the most fascinating jobs of the future, like Artifical Intelligence Specialist, Robotics Engineer or Cybersecurity technician will be available only for graduated.

On the other hand, others believe that, all of these rather positive aspects, however, should not blind us to the fact that a straight degree might not be enough on its own. Far too often, academic achievement is seen as the only route to securing a good job. The truth is, there is a wide variety of routes to great careers. From mechanical engineering to desing, many careers can be entered via apprentships, qualification from further education colleges and good training schemes in the workplace. Furthermore, some skills cannot be automatically gained by completing an academic curriculum. Motivation, self-assessment, problem solving, target setting, energy and focus are acquired throughout experience and are qualities that employer value.

In conclusion, success in life and work is due to more a combination of different factors rather than a single aspect. If there is no doubt that having a degree is an edge over the competition, it also true that experience, personal skills and motivation are key qualities people have to thrive to get a good job position.