In some countries governments are encouraging industries and business to move to regional areas outside the big cities Does the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantage

Air pollution, traffic jam, urban sprawling, and gentrification are only part of the problems majors have to face up nowadays. Especially those who run big cities have to struggle with overpopulation, lack of affordable housing, unemployment, and sometimes high crime rates. All factors that, actually, can lead to an explosive situation. To tackle the problem governments plan to relocate industries and business facilities to outside areas at the outskirt of metropolis. The aim of this essay is to weigh the pros and cons of this proposal.

Traditionally reserved for farming, breeding or mining regional areas may be play a pivotal role in solving some prickly problems big cities are experiencing. Governments are showing interest to those areas since they can host industries and businesses and consequently curb down air pollution levels and traffic jam in the cities. Additionally, building new factories and housing in those areas will have a beneficial impact on the local economy as well since companies will be more likely to hire local workforce. Industries need infrastructures like roads, trails, highways in order to run properly. Further businesses such as restaurants, bars, gas stations will also crop up as a direct consequence of this economic development. However, although the positive aspects seem to prevail, other issues should be considered.

Regional and rural areas will loose probably traditional ways of life, jobs, and model businesses. Furthermore, industries are always linked to some sort of pollution, which can have, conversely, a negative impact on the local environment, ensuing air and water pollution. Rivers, creeks, streams, and lakes once rich of life could end up become totally damaged. Gentrification will affect ancient buildings of historic relevance. Without a careful planning, local areas could endure natural disasters.

In conclusion, since it has become evident that mayors running large cities have to crack down on pollution and overpopulation, move industries to regional areas seem to represent a sound solution. It would considerably help metropolis to reduce their pollution levels and, at the same time, boost the economy of outside areas. In spite of this positive aspects, governments should also frame this step thoroughly to avoid detrimental consequences to the local environment.