The best way to reduce crime among young people is to teach parents good parenting skills To what extent do you agree with this statement Give your own opinion and examples

Youth crime has become a major issue in many cities, with citizens calling for actions and solutions to tackle the problem. In the light of the fact that traditional repressive countermeasures seem to produce little or no effect, some people claim that parents should play a pivotal role. But how exactly? Well, the answer is quite simple: by teaching appropriate parents skills. This essay will examine the pros and cons of this challenging proposal which could represent a decisive step forward in the fight against youth crime.

Just as necessary as finding solutions is understanding the reasons that allow crime to thrive among young people. Poverty, lack of education, illiteracy, violence are all compounding factors that offer fertile terrain for crime organizations that too often profit from these difficult situations to lure teenagers by promising them a world made of money and shining cars. As several studies have shown, traditional punishing measures like imprisonment often fail in their primary goal, so that once out of prison many ex-convicts lacking social or familiar support end up committing the same crimes. So what can be done to prevent youth crime?

Teaching good parents skills to crack down on youth crime might sound a bit unrealistic, since a high percentage of crimes committed by teens go beyond minor offenses: burglary, arson, robbery, murder are not foreign to the young criminals. Could some lessons make our streets safe again? I sincerely doubt, but the proposal is worth a try. Parents are basically the first persons children are exposed to and, as stated before, familiar background is instrumental in developing children behavior. Teens who turn to crime, often come from family where violence supersedes dialogue, where respect for each other does not exist, where ignorance prevails over knowledge. Teaching parenting skills could not be the definitive solution - the problem is far away too complex to be solved with a couple of lessons - but it would certainly represent a valid tool to prevent crime.

Youth crime is relevant issue in many countries. Too little has been done to prevent it, too much has still to be done. If laws, trials, and prisons are necessary when it comes to major crimes, the government should also be aware that all those measures are only short-term solutions. Teaching skill parents can contribute to prevent criminal behavior and should be thus supported. Nobody is sure if this approach will succeed. But one thing is for sure: the longer action is delayed the more dire the consequences will be.