It is often argued that children must be protected from unsuitable material on tv and internet by government censorship Others say that it is the parents responsibility to control what their children do and watch To what extent do you think that this is

whether censorship is necessary or not is still up for debate. The opinion is divided when it comes to discussing about the benefits and the drawbacks of censorship. While many tend to highlight the necessity of a sort of control on outrageous or offensive contents, on the other side, voices warn about the hidden dangers behind this practice. this essay will analyze those two opposite points of view and propose an intermediate solution.

Censorship has been a common practice for several decades.Mainly linked to governments, officials or politicians, censorship is actually an instrument that is widely used in various fields, like movies, PC games, or newspapers. Its aim is basically to protect some categories of people from contents that are labelled as potentially harmful or objectionable contents. To give a tangible example, movies are rated according to the amount of scenes of violence, sex or substance abuse or other matters traditionally inappropriate for children or teenagers. this rating system allows parents to decide whether a movie can be watched by their children or not. It is a form of censorship, which in this case has a positive effect.

In some countries , however, government use censorship as a weapon to silence opposition and to inhibit freedom of speech. Some people also claim that newspapers, tabloids and mass media should always be free to publish their contents, underlining the fact that they publish what the readers want to be published. Though this may seem to be right at first sight, it must also be noticed that is necessary to draw a line, because if it is true that newspapers should be free from government control it is also true that they do not have the right to slander or defame people with false allegations. When it happens, victims of calumny has therefore the right to sue newspapers and to be refunded for the offence received.

In conclusion, censorship is a valuable tool when it comes to protect children from contents that can lead to violence or improper actions. it should however not be used as a weapon to wipe out dissents and to steer mass media in the direction indicated by the government.