Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad Despite knowing that millions of people continue doing unhealthy activities What are the causes and what are the solutions for this

When it comes to speaking about which is good or bad for our health the opinion is still divided. Despite several medical studies have clearly shown what can improve or deteriorate our physical condition, millions are still following unhealthy habits. Aim of this essay is to briefly illustrate the effects of some activities on our body.

Over the past decades research supported by sound scientific evidences, have demonstrated that exercising is instrumental in preventing severe diseases that can lead to dangerous medical conditions and sometimes even to death. For instance, lack of movement is the most common factor linked to obesity. Overweight is also responsible for cardiovascular disorders, stroke, and diabetes. Scientific evidence also bolsters the detrimental effect of a diet based on high-calories snacks, fast food, soft drinks, and sugar. Although the consequences mentioned above are well known and plenty of information about it is easily accessible on the Internet, millions stubbornly continue to stick to detrimental habits.

There is no need to go so far to find the reasons of this behavior, since they root basically in the human nature itself. Activities like smoking or eating junk food activate a reward mechanism embedded in our brain that in turn releases hormones that provide a sense of well-being. It is nothing less that addiction. As a consequence, breaking this addiction becomes for many a hard task to accomplish. Some do not even try to dismiss those unhealthy habits. On the other hand, others make incredible efforts to improve their health condition, by exercising, by cutting down on sugar, fruit juices, and smoke.

To conclude, the reasons concealed behind unhealthy habits are largely connected to the human nature. Addiction to some substances like tobacco and sugar can represent an obstacle difficult to come over. Yet, there is good news. In spite of the fact that discarding those habits is an up-hill battle, it worth fighting it. Just losing a little weight, for example, has a dramatic effect on the general medical condition, let alone quitting smoke. Thousands have tried to live healthier. Many have failed and many have succeed, but hose who have never tried are destined to lose from the beginning.