Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Governments from both developed and developing nations are focusing entirely on economic growth. While this may be a pivotal parameter to create jobs, bring investments but there are critics who believe that other factors like social security, public infrastructure, education and health are equally important. In my opinion although economic growth is important but government must also equally focus on other parameters for a sustainable growth of a nation. In the below essay I will discuss both sides with relevant examples and conclude with my opinion.

On one hand, economic growth is mandatory aspect to bring investments in a country which would further fuel creation of employment opportunities across different verticals. With these new investments and collection of additional funds through taxes government can focus on bettering the infrastructure, security, health and education facilities. For instance in developing countries like India, government is focusing on economic growth by attracting investment in manufacturing sector where by collection of taxes from these manufacturing plants are being deviated for creation of modern infrastructure like high-speed trains, better roads and educational facilities.

However on the other hand without stable political environment, social security, public infrastructure, education and health system it is very difficult for a nation to do economic progress. For instance in war-torn countries like Afghanistan and Syria investors are reluctant to invest due unstable political environment and security concerns.

In conclusion taking the above examples into consideration one cannot deny the fact that economic growth is not important however it must go hand in hand with other factors like social security, better infrastructure, healthcare and education system for ensuring sustainable growth of a nation.