The increase in people's life expectancy means that they have to work older to pay for their retirement. One alternative is that people start to work at a younger age. Is this alternative a positive or negative development?

Life expectancy has become the most concerning matter for the people after their retirement. While some individuals believe that they have to dedicate a few more years working, others think that starting a career at the early stage of life is a better option to increase life expectancy later. However, the latter option seems not to be a positive development.

To begin with, people do gain a slight benefits when they start working at young ages. Having a job early can help people strengthen their confidence significantly. Since they have a chance to encounter and experience the working environment sooner than the others, individuals develop the basic resolving skills for situations which could be useful for their other future occupations. Furthermore, people deserve to stop working after the age of 65 because they have contributed enough to the society by choosing to reallocate the extra working years to the early life. Thus, they find that working early will be more favorable.

Unfortunately, the setbacks of this alternative of working early is far more unbeneficial. Firstly, deciding to have a career too soon usually leads individuals to drop out from their studying. As a result, they lack fundamental knowledge to achieve high quality jobs which are potential to improve their life standards. Often, these people can only seek average occupations as taxi drivers, waiters, or normal accountants which create no significant assets as they expect. Secondly, working at young ages restricts the expanding of social experience. Instead of having opportunities to meet extraordinary people who are able to boost one’s career, the alternative choice limits all these chances.

In conclusion, people might need to consider sticking with the traditional way because working at young age could damage their life expectancy in the long term, especially when they retire.