In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether the steady increase in the number of old people is good for society or it is causing concerning issues for many countries. In my opinion, I believe that this development could actually pose several problems.

To begin with, it is understandable why people say that the increasing number of the elderly is a good sign. One reason is that, to well-educated part of society, older generations usually have more wisdom and experiences that the young can learn from. Having more people of these ages, therefore, would build up a sizable source of knowledge to assist their successors when needed. In Vietnam, for example, many leaders of big organizations still ask for business and managing advice from their predecessors to successfully run their companies.

However, I side with those who think that a large proportion of old people will create societal and monetary issues for countries. One reason to support my standpoint is that, since the elderly lose most of their physical strength, they are prone to attacks and robberies committed by younger generations. Thus, the more individuals enter this age group, the higher crime rates may occur. For instance, it has been recently reported that robberies are committed more frequently in Vietnam, which citizens in the age of 60 or above are the main victims. Moreover, the government will have to spend an irretrievably substantial budget to support old people if this portion of the population keeps rising. Such money mostly comes from taxes, and thus, the monetary burden on national workforce will be absolutely heavier.

In conclusion, I think that the increasing number of older people will surely bring forth some serious problems for many countries around the world.