Some people think that computer games are bad for children while others think that they are beneficial. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that video games are damaging to children whereas others would say that they bring benefits. While playing too much computer games can harm children’s eyesight, I believe that they allow children to make more friends and have a better social life.

On the one hand, video games can reduce children’s physical vision. Scientists and doctors have proved that any exposure to the UV light from computer monitors can damage some layers of human eyes. Therefore, children’s eyesight will surely be affected if they spend too much time playing games on their computers or TV screens. For example, it is estimated that around 40% of children in the age between twelve and eighteen in Ho Chi Minh City have very bad eyesight due to frequent exposure to computer monitors when playing video games. However, I think that the problem of reduced eyes vision among children can be easily cured by modern medicine.

On the other hand, computer games help children expand their social connections. This is to say, gaming is just another networking platform which allows gamers, who are mostly very young, to connect with each other. Hence, children will be able to establish friendships with other players while playing video games. For instance, a study showed that the average number of friends, that children who played Call of Duty had, was 50 whereas those who did not play only had around five to ten. Personally, I feel that this is a great benefit for children as they can become more confident with their social skills in games and in real life.

In conclusion, although computer games can badly impact on the physical vision of children, these games will definitely boost their social experience both online and in real life.