Some people think that the government should take care of disadvantaged people like the homeless and the unemployed. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a commonly held belief that the government should provide care for homeless and unemployed people. In my opinion, I am opposed to this notion.

To begin with, the first reason why the government should not take care of this population portion of society is that it requires a substantial amount of national budget. Since the government’s money mostly come from residents’ taxes, any means of support from the government means that they are sharing money from the country’s contributors to others without full consent. This may bring forth a social unrest from the competent part of the society.

In addition, the underlying cause of the high rate of homeless and jobless people is the lack of available jobs on the market. Providing care, therefore, will not solve this issue in the long term. Instead, the authority could assist these citizens by investing more money in companies to create more job vacancies. This is a much better method that indirectly, yet, effectively aid disadvantaged people.

Another reason is that frequently receiving support from the government will make individuals lazier in finding a job. When people are taken care of for a long time, they will completely rely on the source of support, which means they will keep asking for materials instead of seeking for an occupation to improve their own situation. As a consequence, the issue of unemployment cannot be solved leading to an increase of people living on the streets due to monetary matters.

In conclusion, I believe that the government should not take care of the homeless and the unemployed directly. Instead, focusing on other aspects may indirectly and greatly ameliorate this concerning social problem.