Some people tend to take temporary jobs, for they have the time to do other things. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there has been a tendency that many people choose part-time jobs over full-time occupations in order to reserve their time for personal reasons. While taking temporary jobs offers a few benefits, the consequences this trend brings should not be underestimated.

To begin with, having a part-time job has several merits for ordinary people. Most of these occupations do not require people to attend in the working hours. Thus, individuals can arrange their schedules more flexibly because they are allowed to choose the shifts that suit them. Moreover, many temporary jobs have been made available on the market for job seekers these days. As a result, people can change from one job to another frequently because they want to experience new environment after a short working period.

However, participating is this kind of jobs seems to have more negative impacts. Firstly, most individuals who are looking for these jobs are mainly in the age group of under 25, which means these people are often undergraduate students. Indeed, they need money for accommodations and tuitions; but, spending too much time on these jobs makes them lose concentration on their study. Consequently, their future could be ruined by continuous failures in examinations. Secondly, the salary of these occupations is usually low which people cannot expect to improve their living standards. In the long term, they would definitely regret about their decisions in the past.

In conclusion, temporary jobs might be a good idea to save time and make a living in a short term. However, this trend has too many disadvantages in the long run.